Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


I spent for days at new student orientation at Pacific School of Religion.  I won’t go into detail here since I wrote my September Unigram newsletter column about it and posted a reflection after my first day on my weblog.  I am impressed with the school’s faculty and welcoming staff, as well as their student body’s ethnic and religious diversity and their commitment and energy.  There are 56 new students–mostly M. Div. candidates seeking to enter the ministry.  A few of us are D. Min. students, active ministers wanting to trade thousands of dollars for faculty conversations and guidance on research projects related to our current professional activities and interests.

Thursday at a lunch table a Protestant Christian student said, “Who was Starr King, anyway?”  (Referring to the UU seminary across the street.)  Another said, “I think he was an abolitionist.” Then someone looked to me, the only UU at the table.

I was happy to give the spiel about our great California forbear, Thomas Starr King!

If you don’t know him, or remember him, click the link!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

