Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Adult Religious Education ideas for January

I don’t have to attend Pacific School of Religion in January’s “intercession,” and the next semester (“winter,” they call it!), so I might be able to offer to co-lead or lead an Adult Enrichment class.

Here are my ideas. In the comments section, I’d appreciate hearing any interest from potential participants (and you can answer the poll). Also in the comments section I’d like to hear from colleagues who have done something similar. Deadline November 10 (for my newsletter article).

Uncovering Classism in Unitarian Universalist History–This new course is based on a UUA discussion guide for the Rev. Mark W. Harris’s new book, “Elite: Uncovering Classism in UU History.” Bring your experiences from here or from earlier in your life, and bring an open mind and heart.  3 sessions.

The 5 Big Questions:  Personal Theology–This is my revision of Charlie Kast’s slimmed-down version of Dick Gilbert’s “Building Your Own Theology.” We ask, and give our personal reflections on the answer, these questions: Who am I? How do I know what I know–or what believe to be true? Who or what is the Divine? What is the purpose of my life? What does my death mean? This class requires advance writing (max. 1 page typed) so you are prepared to read your responses in a small group at the class. There will be a bit of lecture and discussion. Room for all theologies, commitments, and spiritual outlooks. No prior knowledge of cosmology, philosophy, theological anthropology, or cake-baking is required.  4 sessions.

Beyond Anti-Religion Polemics:  Spirituality of Nonbelievers–This is a course suggested by a lay leader who (I hope) could co-lead with me. We won’t be talking too much about the big bad atheist books that go after “religious faith” (like Harris, Dawkins, Hitchens, et al.).  I am more interested  in looking together at the values, ethics and spiritualities of atheists, agnostics, and Religious Humanists. 3 or 4 sessions.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

