Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Personal Reflection by Lay Worship Leader last Sunday at UUSS

With a story-filled sermon by our capital campaign consultant, Rev. Bud, this congregation kicked off our 2012 Giving Campaign this past Sunday.  The theme for this campaign–our first one in over 50 years–is Building the Beloved Community.

Here is the Chalice Lighting Reflection by the lay worship leader that Sunday, Deirdre.  Many of us were touched!

Given on September 23, 2012

 

 

September, 2009. I help my daughter move into her dorm room for her first year of college. She is beginning a new life.

I step off the plane back home in Sacramento, ready to begin my own new life. I have been divorced about a year. I have friends, a house, pets, and a part-time job. I am not looking for a new community, beloved or otherwise.

But I have been thinking about the things I want to have more of in my life, and one of them is music. I have decided I want to sing in a choir, but I’m not sure where to find one. I know that most churches have choirs, but I’m not going to pretend to believe in God just to sing in a choir.

Then, I remember. I do know of one church where they don’t ask you to pretend. That Sunday, I visit UUSS to find out if they have a choir. They do. I arrange to attend the next practice. I join the choir. I attend services whenever the choir sings. I start to make connections with people. I listen to the sermons, and sometimes, they move me to tears. I learn that this is a safe place where I can light a candle to give witness to a joy or sorrow. I never had that place before. My little candle seems to mean so much more when it burns in the bowl with the others.

In February of 2010, I become a Member of the congregation.

Today I light the chalice for finding the beloved community.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

