Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Immortality– by the Rev. Jack Mendelsohn (1918-2012)

The bold activist, author and minister Jack Mendelsohn died Oct. 11 at the age of 94.

Many UUs know him from the book Being Liberal in an Illiberal Age: Why I Am a Unitarian Universalist.  About immortality, he says:

When we reason together about the truths and mysteries of life, there is
one all-powerful reality: The humanity of which we are individual
expressions is a product of the sense and nonsense of our forebears.

We are the living immortality of those who came before us. In like manner, those
who come after us will be the harvest of the wisdom and folly we ourselves
are sowing. To let this reality permeate and drench our consciousness is to
introduce ourselves to the grand conception of immortality which makes
yearnings for some form of personal afterlife seem less consequential. So
long as there is an ongoing stream of humanity I have life.

This is my certain immortality. I am a renewed and renewing link in the chain of
humanity. My memory and particularity are personal, transitory, finite; my
substance is boundless and infinite.

The immortality in which I believe
affirms first and foremost my unity with humankind. My unity with humankind
gives meaning to my desire to practice reverence for life.

It is pride in
being and pride in belonging to all being.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Amen!

Comment by Charles Todd




Leave a Reply

