Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Congregational Blessing for Alice, Departing for AmeriCorps

I wrote and led this ritual for our all-ages service last week, so the kids were present along with elders and other adults to say good bye to one of our younger adults.

Sunday, February 10, 2013, at  the Unitarian Universalist Society of Sacramento

Words by Associate Minister

Alice  [standing here] and her family have been members here a long time.  This week she departs for Vicksburg, Mississippi, where she will begin a year of service through AmeriCorps.   Adults from age 20 to age 24 are trained in large groups at one of one of the five AmeriCorps campuses, and they travel out with smaller teams on service projects like disaster relief, trail and park cleanup, tax preparation services, so the working poor can obtain their Earned Income Tax Credit.  In exchange, volunteers get room and board, a little spending money, and a small scholarship for college when their year is done.  They also gain tons of experience, according to a young woman I know in AmeriCorps in Sacramento.  She told me that Vicksburg’s AmeriCorps campus is the most beautiful of them all.   Alice, good luck.

-Words by Alice

Thank you.  This year I hope to find my place in the world and grow as a human being. I will take with me the memories and experiences I have made here with all of you.

Thank you for all your love and support over the years, it has helped me to begin the slow process of finding out who I am and what I can do with the life I have been given.

-Words by the Lead Minister

 Alice, we have watched you grow up here with us. …(and a few more sentences)

-Words by Associate Minister

Alice, I know you gain invaluable experience and you will make new friends.  Also I hope you will eat your veggies, and get a good night’s sleep—at least once a week.  Stay in touch!—

Now, everyone, please join with me in reciting what is noted as  Words by the Congregation.

Words by the Congregation:

Alice, you go with our love and our prayers.

As you share your gifts in service to this nation, we know that you will continue to learn and grow.

Take your Unitarian Universalist values with you on this journey.  Let your heart open and your light shine.

Keep in touch. Remember that you will always

have a home among us.

Blessings to you, Alice.  Blessed be!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

