Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Charlotte’s Pledge Drive Testimonial at UUSS– from the March 10, 2013 service

CHARLOTTE IS A TEENAGER IN OUR YOUTH GROUP AND IS ACTIVE IN RETREATS AT OTHER UU CHURCHES.  

SHE GAVE THIS TESTIMONIAL TODAY FOR THE PLEDGE DRIVE FOR THE 2013-14 FISCAL YEAR.  

HER DADS ARE BOTH ON THE PLEDGE DRIVE STEWARDSHIP TEAM.

I have been at UUSS since before I was born.

When I was a baby, I was welcomed into this world by the congregation right up here where I am standing today. There I was given a flower and the promise of a spiritual home to grow up in. I was too young to remember this, and I can’t actually recall my first memory of UUSS because this community has simply always been for me.

When I was toddler, I would go to childcare and there I made one of my earliest friends. Together we explored the congregation and grew. We would run through the field and walked back as far as we could along the creek in what seemed a stirring and courageous endeavor at the time. The simple land of this society gave me adventures. Then with holidays, the fun would really begin here.

On Christmas, I had the promise of a gift hand delivered from Santa and lots of sugar. Probably way more than my parent s would have preferred. With school came religious education, which was very fun to me. When I look back, I feel they actually tricked me into learning things, because I was certainly never aware of any lectures or homework. Separate from Sunday activities, this congregation has given me and other youth unforgettable experiences by hosting events such as MUUGS, Youth “CONS”, and Coming of Age retreats. For those who don’t know, these three to four day retreats are profound and memorable. When this church hosts, it is at its own expense. The church isn’t being paid, and yet UUSS still allows hoards of teenagers to stay on its campus. It is all thanks to your contributions that other youth and I have been privy to these opportunities for spiritual growth.

However, this is also about what you can get from this community.

You can get a family if that is what you want, because this congregation is very loving and accepting. You can get thought provoking sermons, or participate in one of the church’s many groups to gain further spiritual growth.

Alternatively, maybe it is too early in the morning for you to want either of those and all you want is coffee. Well, you can have that here as well and be getting all the rest.

But especially in today’s society, everything takes money. Your contributions and pledges can help support this community currently and ensure its existence in the future. I hope UUSS is able to continue to give to the future generations as it has given to me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

