Ironicschmoozer’s Weblog


Personal Passions– 1 of 3– from UUSS Worship– Palm Sunday, March 24, 2013
March 26, 2013, 3:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

            I am a Montessori elementary school teacher, and helping children realize their potential is my passion. The foundational philosophy of a Montessori education is that every child is treated with respect and dignity, every child is on their own path, and our job is to prepare the environment and encourage the child’s exploration. Hmm…sound familiar? It’s no wonder the UU in me embraces the Montessorian in me.

            My son is a 2nd grader in Spirit Play; I love that Spirit Play is UU teachings in a Montessori-inspired format, and I admire the incredible passion the volunteers and advocates bring to the program. For me, after teaching all week, I admit to not feeling especially passionate about giving lessons and managing behavior on the weekend, andso I volunteer on the coffee committee.

            Last fall, Spirit Play reached out for help and as I hit the reply button to send a “sorry, not this time” email, my personal email signature caught my eye; a quote by Mahatma Gandhi, “Action expresses priorities.” We prioritize what we are passionate about. Helping children reach their potential is my passion, so…as I sat in Spirit Play Volunteer Training and discussed procedures and materials, I saw that room 7/8 is not the inviting space we are charged with providing for our children. Our church community agreed, and the April 13th project titled A Splash of Paint for Spirit Play was born.

            It’s true that when you give to a child, you get back tenfold.  Last Sunday, the Spirit Players voted on the color they want their room painted. As I left service, my son came running up to me, eager to announce the results. Apparently, it was a close one with blue beating out green by a vote of 8 to 6. A real nail-biter! He was so excited and proud to be involved in the decision-making process, and I felt a deep sense of gratitude that the people of this congregation are passionate enough about the well-being of our children to prioritize their needs. 

            If you also have a passion for helping children, I encourage you to volunteer or donate to A Splash of Paint for Spirit Play. Thank you to those who have already signed up. And thank you to those who will visit the RE table after service to see how you can help.

You know, the universe has a way of reminding us to act on our passion…usually by rewarding us for doing so.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

